This week, I had the honor of witnessing the work of Shihori Nakayama! The work was IMG_3170incredible! All of the fine details were perfected. It was hard not to observe it upclose and personal. I literally glared at each corner of each piece. On the left, I even added an up close photo of one of the pieces. My favorite part about Nakayama’s pieces is the flow from one idea to the next. It seamlessly worked into each major sketch. This being one of them.

Nakayama created these pieces that reflect his personal experiences and his imagination. This is something I can relate to with my pieces. For my art pieces I would go based off an idea from my past experiences and then expand on them through art with my imagination. I find that my best pieces are created this way.

Nakayama uses ink and pen in the pieces in this exhibit. I have had some experience with it and find it to be very time consuming. Because ink and pen are very bold against a white canvas you really have to perfect each dot and line. The organization and sloppiness of the pieces is completely evident with ink, especially when looked at up close. I have a lot of respect and appreciation for this type of art because I know how hard it can be to work with. I really enjoyed the pieces in this exhibit.

